Tourist Tuesday

Now that we are slightly settled and I am not spending my days walking around the Villages looking for an apartment, I have decided that hence forth will be Tourist Tuesday – one day a week where I actually go and do something touristy. Although we just got here, I don’t want to get to the end of our time in NYC and realise that there is a whole list of things I haven’t done.

This Tuesday I caught the Staten Island Ferry to Staten Island. It was a beautiful autumn day to get out and enjoy the sunshine. The actual ferry ride is great. It is free (big bonus to me since I’m not working at the moment) and provides fantastic views of Manhattan, Brooklyn and the Statue of Liberty (which is deceptively small). Over on Staten Island I visited the Staten Island Museum (I wouldn’t really recommend it to anyone visiting but I did save myself the $3 entry fee by going between midday and 2pm on Tuesday’s when admission is free), walked over and checked out the memorial they have for 9/11 and also the Staten Island Yankees Stadium.

Here are my favourite some snaps of the day.

{Looking back at Manhattan on the ride to Staten Island}

{Going past the Statue of Liberty on the ferry}

{9/11 Memorial and the Yankees S.I Stadium}

8 thoughts on “Tourist Tuesday

  1. Catherine

    I love those crisp, bright autumn days – and all your shots of pumpkins are making me super nostalgic for home! It looks like you’re having a blast settling in, although I know how frustrations can creep into starting over in a new city.

    Thanks so much for your kind bloggy birthday wishes!

    x Catherine @ The Spring

    Reply
    1. Paula Post author

      Thanks for your comments Catherine. I am totally in love with the autumn and the leaves have just turned so i’m constantly walking around looking up at them. Its a novelty for me.

      P xo

      Reply
  2. Lucent Imagery

    What a great idea! You can embrace the city as a new resident and still get the buzz as a tourist. We did the ferry when we were there in June last year. It was awesome, except I didn’t spend as much time looking around as I could have. I was deep in conversation with a New York born and bred man who is blind and we were sharing some awesome stories. His memory for the layout of New York was incredible!

    Reply
    1. Paula Post author

      Thanks for stopping by Lucent Imagery. Its the experiences that make a holiday so memorable and I’m sure you wouldn’t have remembered the ferry ride as much as you do had you not taken the time to speak with the local.

      P xo

      Reply

Leave a Reply

