Diary of a juice cleanse {the before}

I have always wondered what it would be like to do a juice cleanse (it was the same kind of wonder I had about half marathons before I attempted to run one). So when I saw a three-day Catalyst Cleanse being offered at a discount on Rue La La I thought it is now or never! I signed up for the cleanse and after procrastinating for a while, today the juice is delivered and I start tomorrow. As I have discovered it’s not as easy as just waiting for the juices to be delivered and drinking them (silly me for thinking so simplistically). Before the cleanse I need to limit my intake of the following vices and completely eliminate them by at least two days before:-

*Caffeine
*Alcohol
*Processed foods
*Meat
*Dairy

So far I’ve managed to limit my intake of processed foods (we don’t really eat many processed goods anyway) and eliminate alcohol and meat. I’m struggling with the dairy (I love yoghurt) and the caffeine (I heart coffee) – I think it’s a matter of going cold turkey with these two.

Here’s what I’ll be drinking – 6 whole juices a day!!

I’m particularly looking forward to juice #6 – sounds yummy doesn’t it?

The thing that really scares me about a juice cleanse is being hungry. I’m hopeless when I’m hungry – I get dizzy, tired and very very cranky. So I will become a hermit for 3 days to ensure no friend of mine is subject to my crankiness (except of course my loving husband but that’s part of his job isn’t it?) and that I do not succumb to temptation.

Wish me luck!

P.S I thought it would be fun to share my experience of the juice cleanse (and it might also help me stay on track) so this is the first instalment of a series of posts over the next few days. Stay tuned for day 1.

Leave a Reply

