Time-out

I’ve had a bit of a hiatus from Plainfabulous the past couple of weeks. I’ve been on the job hunt and my mind has been focused on the corporate me. And we’ve been dog sitting…

{Isn't he cute?}

We’ve been taking lots of long walks since the weather has been divine!

I suppose the break was also a good opportunity for me to reflect on my little blog and what I have created versus what I set out to create and what I want going forward – whether that means continuing with Plainfabulous, starting something new or stepping away from blogging entirely??? Hmmm such major life decisions ;-).

Plainfabulous really started out as the creative outlet I craved as an office worker but now I get frustrated that I cannot create exactly what I want. I’d like a better camera to take better pictures with and  I get frustrated at times that I cannot do what I want with the pictures I have through editing programs such as Photoshop and Pixlr (although this probably has more to do with the fact I am hopeless with technology than the programs themselves).  I’d like an iPhone so I can Instagram and to be able to update Twitter more often. But then would all that stuff really make a difference? I have my doubts.

Moving to Manhattan has also changed what I want out of blogging. I have always loved reading other blogs but now making friends online with other fellow bloggers is super important – it makes me feel connected to the world from our little apartment especially with Tim working long hours. I think this aspect has had a direct impact on the types of blogs I now follow.

So what to do? That is the question. And I don’t think there is an answer. However while I still enjoy sharing a little bit of my life with strangers, friends and family (it’s a great way to share photos of our life in NYC with family and friends) I think I’ll keep going because I think when I stop and don’t have it anymore I’ll want it again.

2 thoughts on “Time-out

  1. Lucent Imagery

    Oh how much fun must you be having with that little one?! Maybe dog sitting could be a part time job for you over there??
    We’re all feeling thoughtful lately, aren’t we? Something in the air. I say, play around a little. Try blogging about whatever takes your fancy and doesn’t feel forced. Perhaps from that your vision will become clearer. Stay true to yourself and your interests first and foremost. The people who are interested will follow. From your blogger friend 🙂

    Reply
    1. Paula Post author

      I think dog sitting might be easier than heading back to the corporate world! Thank you so much for your advice about blogging. I think it has taken me a while to get to the point where my writing isn’t so forced and i’m able to communicate better? Which is a good thing, i’m constantly learning.

      P xo

      Reply

Leave a Reply

